Diary of a Horror Nerd: That Time I Met Victor Crowley

Fotor032280121

Conventions give horror fans like myself a chance to meet some of our horror idols. The worst thing that can happen to a fan is meeting their idols and finding out that they are a complete asshole, but Kane Hodder aka Victor Crowley is a 100% genuinely awesome person.

I met him at Scarefest 7 in Lexington Kentucky back in 2013, right after the release of Hatchet III. It is no secret that I am a huge fan of the Hatchet series, so I got the crossed hatchet symbol that commonly accompanies the Hatchet film titles a couple of months before Scarefest. 

Anyone that has ever seen Kane in person knows he’s a really big guy, and myself only being 5’3, I looked like a child next to him. Despite his large appearance, he gives off such a friendly vibe. He is one of the easiest people to talk to. 

Some “celebrities” pretend to be interested in what you have to say and the artwork you show them whether it be on paper or your skin, but when I told Kane about my tattoo, his eyes lit up. He came around the table and wanted to see it right away. When I showed him, he talked about how awesome it is and how much he loves to see pieces of his work immortalized. He asked ME for a picture with it, Kane fucking Hodder wanted a picture with me and my tattoo! I’m not a typical “fangirl”, but that moment was probably the highlight of my horror nerd experiences. I must insert a disclaimer here, Kane does choke, FOR REAL, male or female. He grabbed my hair (the tattoo is on the back of my neck) and yanked me around, but how can you be mad? I got tossed around by Victor Crowley!

1230067_10201282204210465_817331541_n
Kane with my Hatchet tattoo

After the picture, he spun me around and put me in a choke hold for another picture, again, he asked for another with ME. After the second picture, he put his arm around me and said thank you, he thanked me!? 

My husband and I got married on Friday, June 13, 2008 (Jason Voorhees’ birthday is Friday, June 13). We told him about it and he thought it was awesome. He is so genuine and you can feel the passion he has for his work and the love he has for his fans when he speaks. He doesn’t try to rush you along, he gives his undivided attention to his fans and does not like to be interrupted. A wrestling announcer broke over the PA in quite a loud, obnoxious manner while Kane was talking to a fan. Needless to say, Kane was not very happy about that. He slammed his pen down, came out from behind the table with that “I’m going to rip your head off and shove it up your ass” look in his eyes and demanded to know who was doing it. Yeah, they stopped after that.

If you ever get the opportunity to meet Kane Hodder, seize that opportunity. He is such a great guy and would never stomp on your horror nerd dreams. For those curious, he is $30 for an autograph, but pictures and genuine awesomeness is FREE. 

That was my experience meeting Victor Crowley, and I would not change a second of it for anything. Enough babbling and nerding out from me for now.

Until next time.

Fotor20150322

Leave a comment