Book Review: Ground Zero by Nicholas Ryan

GroundZeroCoverSAWWhen I think zombie novels, I used to think Max Brooks, but there is a new name I will think of from now on, Nicholas Ryan. I was contacted a while back by Mr. Ryan to review his new zombie novelGround Zero‘ and I’m glad I accepted to do so.

Synopsis:

When the zombie apocalypse sweeps across the eastern states of America, Jack Cutter is the man least likely to last beyond the first few minutes. Dealing with the recent tragic deaths of his wife and child, Cutter is forced into a desperate struggle for survival – and for redemption. Everything Cutter came to expect from life is torn away and turned upside down so that all he has left is his instinct and a sense of fate that compels him on his journey.
The action is frantic and terrifying as Cutter slowly discovers the cost of staying alive is dealing with his guilt and accepting responsibility he can never be prepared for.
‘Ground Zero: A Zombie Apocalypse’ is a real story with real characters that readers will cheer on until the final shocking twist.

Many zombie novels that I have read have been severely lacking the proper descriptiveness to draw the reader into the horror they are trying to give them.  Nicholas Ryan’sGround Zero‘ is every bit as horrifying and descriptive as a Max Brooks novel.  The scenes he describes are terrifying and so vivid I almost feel like I am watching a George A. Romero film.  The way he depicts his characters and the scenarios that they are faced with, I could feel their fear and I felt as though I was watching all of these horrors unfold through the eyes of these terrified people.  He gave every character a back story, so you really get to know them and learn what makes them tick.  This is what makes any story worth reading.

The twists and turns that his main character, Jack Cutter, faces are fantastically thought out.  The changes he goes through and the things he comes to terms with are both heartbreaking and unsettling.

Ground Zero‘ is not a lengthy story, but packs all the punches of a Stephen King length novel.  None of the story feels rushed.  The natural flow of the novel from beginning to end is seamless and well thought out.  Through the time that I was reading it, I never thought “well this could be better” or “he really should have added something here“.  ‘Ground Zero‘ really is a work of art and has all of the makings of a real horror literary classic.

I could not recommend ‘Ground Zero‘ enough to anyone that enjoys a truly captivating horror story.  Even if you are not a fan of horror or zombie novels, I would still give it a read.  The story is so well written, it could draw in any reader, horror fan or not.

Like Nicholas Ryan on Facebook to keep up with news and to get to know the new face of zombie novels.

To purchase ‘Ground Zero‘, follow the links below:

US customers, Click Here

UK customers, Click Here

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Ground Zero by Nicholas Ryan”

Leave a comment