Get to Know bleedingcritic

I have done an article on bleedingcritic previously, but this time I got the chance to do an interview with him.  For those of who that do not know much about bleedingcritic and what he is about, allow he and myself to give you a better look into his world.

e3e7dab338e7fcba8d4e48084952f2ec
Photo Credit: bleedingcritic

LBoH: First things first, your reviews and knowledge of the horror genre is incredible. What got you interested in the horror scene?

bc: “I’ve always had a passion for horror films, the definitive starting point in my memory was when I watched the film JAWS for the first time in the cinema. To experience fear and anxiety when so young must have started the addiction.”

LBoH: And how was the bleedingcritic born?

bc: “I’ve had so many bleedingjobs over the years, some infront of the television camera – Then as acting work dried up due to it’s overcrowding I started wearing a suit for work and found the office environment was soul destroying, especially if you’re a creative person. Then after experiencing 3 redundancies in 4 years, I said that’s enough – I need to do my own thing. In late 2011 I didn’t know what it was at the time. Then I noticed how frustrating I was with reading film reviews that gave everything away and then that definitive idea, thats developed into what it’s become now, just came to mind.”

LBoH: The face of bleedingcritic is with out a doubt one of the most noticable faces of the blog and twitter worlds. How did you come up with the concept for that face?

bc: “There are so many brilliant masks available to buy, but I needed to have a mask that I could Trademark, a design that is unique, a one off that I own. I had many ideas about the mask and when I met with oscar and bafta award winner Mark Coulier from Coulier Creatures FX, I knew he and his team would deliver. It was an instinctive decision for me. After my brief they created my bleedingface, and I’ll never forget the wonderful moment I arrived at their workshop to collect.”

LboH: How did you come up with the name “bleedingcritic”?

bc: “I wanted to create a name that was consistent with the website, bleedingfilms.com – because the site was first.”

LBoH: Can you remember the first review that you did? If so, what film was it for?

bc: “I bleedingthink it was ‘The Mist’.”

LBoH: How long have you been reviewing movies?

bc: “The bleeding started in October 2011”

LBoH: I love that your reviews are spoiler-free, is it hard for you to make a review without giving the movie away?

bc: “Before I started my first film review, I thought about how I am when I talk about films to friends that haven’t seen the film I’m talking about. So that’s the foundation for me, I can easily discuss any film without disclosing the thread of its story.”

LBoH: What do you look for in a quality horror film?

bc: “I have to watch every film I choose with an open mind, and just let it flow over me, just like a bleeding shower. I look for that feeling of ‘I haven’t seen this before’, OR…I’ve seen this done before, but this time the work has it’s own individual take on it’. A quality horror film is a combination of all different pieces of the creative puzzle fitting together in perfection. The Exorcist is classic example of this and  ‘Martyrs’ is an example of finding a film that’s totally original, which is rare.”

LBoH: Your short story series “Horror Medication” is by far one of the best on the internet.  How do you come up with such brilliant material for it?

bc: “bleedingthanks for the compliment. Some of the filming is improvised, I just think of the story and film it, and see how it turns out. Now to save time I write all the stories so my waffling and repeating is removed. All my stories  are influenced by real life experiences or revenge on people I have known, or read about that will never receive the justice they deserve. I have a real hatred of domestic violence, hence my horror medication story called Bottle. I also have a twisted and imaginative way of creating scinareos that spiral from calm into bleeding horrorific endings. Derek and the Dream Catchers shop idea I created a long time ago. I originally had the idea to help children sleep – and make them empowered to cope with bad dreams. But then I wanted to bring it into the horrormedication series to test peoples reaction, which has been positive.”

LBoH: bleedingjack is an amazing addition to your videos. Can you tell us a bit about him?

bc: “Yeah, I was taken by some friend to one of these ‘Vintage’ wearhouses where everything seems a little overpriced and then I spotted this Jack in a box and the idea to have him as my assistant just came to me straight away. I can’t tell you how much I paid for him because if he reads this he might eat me.”

LBoH: You do an incredible job keeping in contact with your #bleedingfamily, but as the family grows, do you find it harder to maintain contact with them?

bc: “One thing I notice with some current celebrities is that they think their too important to communicate with the very people that put them where they are. I’m bleedingloyal and I will always interact with my fans, #bleedingfamily, because they give me honest feedback.”

LBoH: Many others and myself are looking forward to more reviews and more doses of Horror Medication. What can we look for in the future from bleedingcritic?

bc: “I had meeting with a radio producer in May last year, I played my bleedingradio idea demo..they understood what I was trying to achieve. I had bleedinganticipation simmering for over three months, then unfortunately they had limited funds and nothing became of it. I have had meetings and ongoing communication with a Television Channel since last November, so fingers crossed that might start soon, but in this media world you can’t rely on whatever anyone says until it actually does happen. Right now I’m filming each of my reviews so people have a choice to read or watch me. I have some ideas for the horrormedication series but I need to get the content I’ve created already out there to more people. With me I’m the total creative horror package and I’ve never been happier being bleedingcritic. I know what I’ve created is growing into something big, However, I just need that someone, in the right position, that recognizes the potencial for what I’m doing and opens that door to my bleedingsuccess across all media.”

Be sure to keep up to date on all bleedingcritic info by following him on twitter and signing up for updates at bleedingfilms.com.

 

13 thoughts on “Get to Know bleedingcritic”

Leave a comment